The best HP gaming desktop for most buyers is an OMEN 35L-class tower with an RTX 5070 or better, because reviews describe it as built from standard parts with a proper power supply; the OMEN 16L is the budget entry, and the OMEN Max 45L is the flagship. The catch is naming: HP has moved OMEN under the HyperX brand, so the same desktops appear under both names, and some store listings still carry old graphics cards.

If you are looking for the best HP gaming desktop, or the best HP OMEN desktop, the most useful thing to know is that HP sells three distinct tiers under one name, and they are built differently. The compact OMEN 16L is an entry machine with a proprietary power supply according to owner reports. The OMEN 35L is a mid-tower that reviewers praise for ordinary, replaceable parts. The OMEN Max 45L is the flagship with a 360mm liquid cooler and the biggest GPU options. This guide explains each tier, lists the HP desktop configurations in the site store with their trade-offs, and flags the older listings that look cheap but ship with outdated graphics cards.

Our Top Picks

  1. HP OMEN 16L Gaming Desktop PC
    Check on Amazon
  2. HP OMEN 16L Gaming Desktop PC AMD Ryzen
    Check on Amazon

Quick comparison of the picks

Pick Best for CPU class GPU class RAM / SSD class Cooling
OMEN 16L, Ryzen 7 and RTX 5060 Best entry HP Ryzen 7 8700F class RTX 5060 class 32GB, 1TB Air
OMEN 16L, Ryzen 5 and RX 7600 Cheapest modern HP, AMD GPU Ryzen 5 class RX 7600 class 16GB, 1TB Air
OMEN 45L, Core Ultra 7 and RTX 5070 Larger chassis, liquid cooling Core Ultra 7 265K class RTX 5070 class 16GB, 1TB Liquid
OMEN 45L GT22, Core Ultra 9 and RTX 5070 CPU-heavy multitasking rig Core Ultra 9 285K class RTX 5070 class 64GB, 2TB Liquid
OMEN 45L, Ryzen 7 5700X and RTX 3060 Ti Older-generation 1080p to 1440p Ryzen 7 5700X class RTX 3060 Ti class 32GB, 1TB Liquid
OMEN 35L (not in store) Best standard-parts mid-tower Core Ultra 7 270K Plus class or Ryzen Up to RTX 5080 class Up to 64GB DDR5-6000 240mm liquid

How We Chose

This guide is based on published sources, not on using the machines. We read HP’s OMEN desktop page, HP’s buyer guides, editorial reviews from Tom’s Hardware, Windows Central and Tom’s Guide, HP support-community threads and retail listings, and compared the lines on component quality, cooling, upgrade path and warranty. Where sources conflicted we say so. The ordering is editorial judgement.

HP’s gaming desktop lineup in 2026

HP’s own desktop page lists the following lines. The OMEN Max 45L comes in an Intel 2026 version with up to a Core Ultra 9 285K, up to an RTX 5090, up to 128GB DDR5-4800 and a 360mm LCD liquid cooler, and in an AMD version with up to a Ryzen 9 9950X3D and either an RTX 5090 or a Radeon RX 9070 XT. The OMEN 35L Intel 2026 version lists up to a Core Ultra 7 270K Plus, up to an RTX 5080, up to 64GB DDR5-6000 and a 240mm LCD liquid cooler. The OMEN 16L lists up to a Core Ultra 7 265F with up to an RTX 5060 Ti (8GB), up to 32GB DDR5-5600 and a 92mm fan with two heat pipes. The OMEN 25L is still listed with a Ryzen 5 5600X and RTX 3080 option, which is an older generation. HP’s page does not state warranty or power supply details.

Branding adds confusion. Coverage of the 2026 launch describes HyperX-branded versions of the Max 45L and 35L, and Tom’s Hardware notes that HP merged the OMEN brand with HyperX in January 2026. In practice you will see both names. A retail listing for an older model still carries the original OMEN name, so check the model number and the GPU generation instead of the badge.

The standard-parts question

This is the most important buying fact. Windows Central reported that the OMEN 35L had branded fans, power supply and liquid cooler but no strange proprietary approaches, with an 850W 80 Plus Gold, ATX 3.1 fully modular supply. Tom’s Hardware described a micro ATX motherboard and an OMEN power supply that is just a power supply. Tom’s Hardware’s review of the HyperX version said it offers about as much upgradeability as expected from a mid-tower without proprietary parts. The OMEN 16L is different: an HP support-community reply said one 16L board requires an HP proprietary power supply that is not compatible with a standard 24-pin ATX supply, and a retail-forum commenter said the board is proprietary. Those are user reports on specific board variants, not HP statements: the same threads show stock supplies of 400W to 550W depending on the model, and a few replies claim a standard ATX supply fits, so it varies by variant. It matches the pattern of compact HP towers, so verify before assuming otherwise. Plan on the 16L being a machine you upgrade only with a graphics card, memory and storage.

Our picks

1. Best entry HP: OMEN 16L with Ryzen 7 and RTX 5060

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

HP OMEN 16L Gaming Desktop PC, AMD Ryzen 7 8700F, 32 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060, Windows 11 Pro, Microsoft Copilot, Panda Metal

This OMEN 16L pairs a Ryzen 7 8700F-class processor with an RTX 5060, 32GB RAM and a 1TB SSD, with Windows 11 Pro. The memory is the strong point: 32GB is generous at the entry tier. The 16L is a compact tower, which suits a desk but limits cooling and expansion. Because owner reports describe a proprietary power supply and a BIOS limited to certain processors, treat the 16L as a complete machine you keep as-is, with the GPU and memory as the only practical upgrades.

Best for: 1080p high settings and entry 1440p with upscaling. Skip if: you want to swap the power supply. Pros: 32GB RAM, compact, modern GPU. Cons: proprietary-part reports, small-case thermals, 8GB-class VRAM.

2. Best alternative GPU: OMEN 16L with Ryzen 5 and RX 7600

HP OMEN 16L Gaming Desktop PC AMD Ryzen 5 16GB RAM 1TB SSD RX 7600 Windows 11 Home

This listing uses an AMD graphics card, an RX 7600, with a Ryzen 5 processor, 16GB RAM and a 1TB SSD, and runs Windows 11 Home. It is the cheapest modern HP in the store. The RX 7600 is an older-generation 1080p card; it lacks the newest upscaling and ray-tracing features of current GPUs. It makes sense only if the price gap to the RTX 5060 version is clear. Otherwise, the Nvidia model is the better long-term buy.

Best for: a budget 1080p machine. Skip if: you want current features. Pros: low entry cost, compact. Cons: older GPU generation, 16GB RAM, same compact-case limits.

3. Best mid-range HP in the store: OMEN 45L with Core Ultra 7 and RTX 5070

HP OMEN 45L Gaming Desktop, Intel Core Ultra 7 265K, 16 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070, Windows 11 Pro, Microsoft Copilot, Tempered Glass, GT22-3050 (2025)

The listing is an OMEN 45L GT22-3050 (2025) with a Core Ultra 7 265K, an RTX 5070, 1TB SSD and Windows 11 Pro, in a tempered-glass tower. The weakness is the 16GB of RAM. Everything else is aimed at the upper mid-range, but a 16GB machine will feel tight for streaming and modern open-world games. Budget for an additional 16GB, or move to a 32GB configuration. The 45L chassis is far larger than the 16L and uses a liquid cooler according to HP’s line description.

Best for: 1440p high refresh. Skip if: you will not upgrade the RAM. Pros: strong CPU, liquid cooling, large chassis. Cons: 16GB RAM, 12GB VRAM limits at 4K.

4. Best for multitasking: OMEN 45L GT22 with Core Ultra 9 and 64GB

HP. OMEN 45L GT22 Gaming Desktop PC- Intel Core Ultra 9 285K up to 5.7 GHz Processor, 64GB DDR5 RAM, 2TB NVMe SSD, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070, Liquid Cooling, RGB Lighting, AI Copilot, Windows 11 Pro

This configuration uses a Core Ultra 9 285K, 64GB DDR5, a 2TB NVMe SSD, an RTX 5070, liquid cooling and Windows 11 Pro. It is unbalanced for pure gaming: the processor and memory are well above what games need, while the GPU is a mid-high class card. If you game, stream, edit video and run virtual machines on one PC, the balance makes sense. If you only game, an RTX 5080 system with a lower-end CPU would deliver more frames for similar money.

Best for: gaming plus heavy multitasking. Skip if: you only play games. Pros: 64GB, 2TB, 285K. Cons: GPU-light balance, premium cost.

5. Best older-generation value: OMEN 45L with Ryzen 7 5700X and RTX 3060 Ti

HP OMEN 45L Gaming Desktop, AMD Ryzen 7, RTX 3060Ti, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD | Liquid Cooled, Ryzen 7 5700X 8-Core, 800W Gold PSU, WiFi Adapter, RJ-45, Windows 11, RGB Tempered Glass Tower

This listing is a liquid-cooled 45L with a Ryzen 7 5700X, an RTX 3060 Ti, 32GB RAM, a 1TB SSD and an 800W Gold power supply. It is an older platform: the CPU is on AM4, which has no further upgrade path, and the RTX 3060 Ti is two GPU generations old. It still plays 1080p and many 1440p games well, and 800W Gold is a healthy supply. Buy it only if the price is clearly lower than a current-generation machine and you accept the dead-end platform.

Best for: a lower-cost 1080p to 1440p rig. Skip if: you want current ray tracing or DLSS 4 features. Pros: 32GB, liquid cooling, solid PSU. Cons: older GPU, AM4 end of line.

6. Best standard-parts mid-tower: OMEN 35L

The OMEN 35L has no matching listing in the site store, so there is no product card, but it is the HP line this guide recommends most. HP lists up to a Core Ultra 7 270K Plus, an RTX 5080, up to 64GB DDR5-6000 and a 240mm LCD liquid cooler for the Intel 2026 version, and there is an AMD version. Reviews describe a micro ATX board, an 850W Gold modular supply, a quiet chassis and ordinary replacement parts. Tom’s Hardware’s review of the HyperX version advised that the top-end configurations make the most sense because entry models are expensive for the hardware. One quirk it noted in an earlier review: the motherboard has no HDMI output, so you cannot use integrated graphics if the GPU fails.

Best for: buyers who want HP support and replaceable parts. Skip if: you want the lowest price. Pros: standard parts, quiet. Cons: premium pricing at entry configurations, one-year warranty.

Red flags in HP gaming desktop listings

  • GTX 1660 Super-class graphics in a 2026 listing. Several store listings under the OMEN 40L, OMEN 45L and Victus names pair a modern-looking Core i7 or Ryzen 7 with a GTX 1660 Super. That is a 2019-era GPU class; the name on the case should not distract from it.
  • 16GB RAM with a 5070-class card. Plan an upgrade.
  • Proprietary power supply in compact towers. The 16L is the reported example.
  • Reseller relabels. Some listings come from third-party sellers who rename or misspell the product; stick to listings that state the exact model number.
  • Single-channel memory. Check module count.

Buying guide: what each tier realistically buys

Tier HP line What you get Trade-off
Entry OMEN 16L 1080p, light 1440p Proprietary parts, compact cooling
Mainstream OMEN 35L 1440p high refresh, up to RTX 5080 class Pays for standard parts and quiet chassis
Flagship OMEN Max 45L 4K, RTX 5090, 360mm liquid cooler Premium cost, big case

Warranty and support

Tom’s Hardware’s HyperX OMEN 35L review notes a standard one-year warranty, and HyperX’s own page lists a one-year limited hardware warranty, with an optional two-year pickup and return plan sold by HP. HP’s desktop page does not state warranty length, so check the listing for the exact SKU and seller. A retailer listing may differ from the HP store.

Upgrade path table

Part OMEN 16L OMEN 35L OMEN Max 45L
Graphics card Possible within PSU and space limits Easy, 850W class Easy, large PSU
RAM Easy, two slots Easy, up to 64GB listed Easy, up to 128GB listed
SSD Easy Easy Easy
Power supply Reported proprietary Standard ATX Standard class
Motherboard Reported proprietary Micro ATX standard Not confirmed

Matching the HP desktop to your monitor

A 1080p monitor at 144Hz to 165Hz is well served by the RTX 5060 class in the OMEN 16L. A 1440p monitor at 165Hz to 240Hz fits the RTX 5070 class in a 45L or the RTX 5070 Ti class in a 35L. 4K at 120Hz or higher calls for the RTX 5080 class and up, which means the 35L’s top configuration or the Max 45L. HP also sells its own OMEN monitors, so an HP-only setup is possible, but pick the monitor on its resolution, refresh rate and panel type rather than the badge.

The OMEN 16L in more detail

The 16L is the model most buyers actually meet, because it is the one that fits an entry budget. HP’s page lists it with up to a Core Ultra 7 265F, up to an RTX 5060 Ti with 8GB, up to 32GB of DDR5-5600 and a 92mm fan with two heat pipes. That cooling description matters: it is a small air cooler designed for a compact chassis, which is why the 16L suits processors such as the Ryzen 7 8700F and Core Ultra 7 265F, not high-wattage chips. Support-community threads on the 16L show stock power supplies of 400W, 500W and 550W depending on the model, plus two different motherboards. If you ever plan to add a higher-wattage graphics card, you need to know exactly which supply your unit has.

A simple check before you buy or upgrade: look up the model number on the label (for example a TG03 code), find the motherboard identifier on HP’s support page, and see whether the board uses a standard 24-pin power connector or a small proprietary one. That ten-minute check prevents buying a power supply that does not fit. For most owners the better plan is to buy the graphics card you want on day one and leave the rest alone.

HP and HyperX: how to read the names

HP announced at CES on January 5, 2026 that HyperX and OMEN were coming together under one gaming brand. Channel coverage says HyperX becomes the overarching brand while OMEN remains a product-family name, so the pattern you will see is HyperX OMEN. Heise reports that new gaming PCs in the family will carry the HyperX logo instead of the OMEN rhombus. For shoppers, the effect is that the same desktop may be listed as HP OMEN, HyperX OMEN or just OMEN, and older stock still carries the old name. It is unclear from the coverage we found what happens to the Victus budget line, and we found no official list of renamed desktop models, so rely on the model number and the specification, not the badge.

Cooling and noise across the line

The 35L and 45L both use liquid coolers according to HP’s line descriptions, a 240mm LCD unit on the 35L and a 360mm unit on the Max 45L. Windows Central and Tom’s Hardware described the 35L as a quiet mid-tower, which is its strongest selling point against louder air-cooled rivals. The 16L is the opposite: a small fan and two heat pipes, so expect more noise under load. If quiet matters, the 35L is the better HP to start with; if space matters, the 16L is the only one that fits under a shelf.

Common mistakes when buying an HP gaming desktop

  • Paying for the badge. HP’s name on a tower says nothing about the GPU generation. Read the graphics card line first.
  • Buying the cheapest 45L. The 45L is a large chassis; if the configuration inside is an older CPU with a mid-range card, a smaller current-generation machine can be the better buy.
  • Paying for the OS edition. Some listings ship with Windows 11 Pro, others with Home. Pro is not needed for gaming; do not pay extra for it on its own.
  • Assuming Copilot branding means performance. Several listings advertise AI or Copilot features. They do not change frame rates.
  • Skipping the return policy. The warranty is one year in the sources we found; the retailer return window is your main safety net in the first month.

Is HP a good choice compared with other prebuilt brands?

HP is a good choice when you value a large company’s support network and a polished chassis. It is a weaker choice for pure value, because HP’s configurations often carry a premium over boutique builders for the same GPU and CPU. Tom’s Hardware’s HyperX OMEN 35L review summed this up with a headline about a polished machine for deep pockets, and said the top configurations make more sense than entry ones. A fair summary: pick the 35L or Max 45L if you want HP, pick a boutique build if you want the most hardware per dollar, and treat the 16L as a convenient entry option, not a long-term platform.

Checklist before you order

  1. Confirm the exact model (16L, 35L, Max 45L, or an older 40L or 25L).
  2. Confirm the GPU model and generation.
  3. Confirm RAM capacity and module count.
  4. Confirm the power supply wattage and whether it is standard or HP-specific.
  5. Confirm the cooler type.
  6. Confirm warranty length and seller.
  7. Match the GPU class to your monitor.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which HP gaming desktop is best?

For most buyers, an OMEN 35L-class tower with an RTX 5070 or better and 32GB of RAM, because reviews describe it as built from standard, replaceable parts. The Max 45L is the flagship and the 16L is the entry model.

Are HP OMEN desktops good?

The 35L and 45L are well regarded for build quality and cooling. The 16L is a decent entry machine but reportedly uses proprietary parts. Reviewers also note that entry configurations are expensive for the hardware.

Is OMEN now HyperX?

Coverage of the 2026 launch describes HyperX-branded OMEN desktops, and Tom’s Hardware says HP merged the OMEN brand with HyperX in January 2026. Both names appear on products and listings.

Can I upgrade an HP OMEN desktop?

The 35L can, with standard parts. The 16L is limited by reportedly proprietary power and board parts, so upgrades are mostly the graphics card, memory and storage.

How long is the HP OMEN warranty?

Sources for the 35L list a one-year limited hardware warranty, with an optional two-year pickup and return plan. Check the exact listing.

Is an HP Victus a good gaming desktop?

Victus is HP’s budget gaming line. Several store listings pair an i5-14400F with a GTX 1660 Super, which is a very old GPU class, so a Victus with a current RTX 5050 or 5060 card is a better buy.

Sources

HP OMEN gaming desktops page and HP Tech Takes buyer guides; Tom’s Hardware HyperX OMEN 35L and HP OMEN 35L reviews; Windows Central OMEN 35L review; HP Support Community OMEN 16L power-supply thread; Gizmochina OMEN Max 45L and 35L launch coverage.

Last updated: October 2026

Related guides

Browse all Gaming PCs guides →