This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
A 12GB RTX 3060 with important compatibility gaps
The MSI Gaming GeForce RTX 3060 reviewed here is the retailer-listed 12GB GDDR6, 192-bit, PCIe 4 configuration with a Torx twin-fan cooler and OC designation. Those details define the configuration under discussion; the supplied listing does not establish a more specific manufacturer board-series name. This is a specification-based assessment, not a hands-on test, so cooling quality, noise and gaming performance remain unverified.
Its clearest buying arguments are the stated memory capacity, four listed display connectors and dimensions that can be checked against an existing case. The main obstacle to recommending it for a particular build is missing electrical information. Neither board power nor auxiliary power connectors are supplied. Buyers planning an upgrade should resolve those omissions before treating the card as a compatible replacement.
The supplied board specifications
| Item | Retailer-listed specification |
|---|---|
| Graphics processor | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 |
| Dedicated memory | 12GB GDDR6 |
| Memory interface | 192-bit |
| Memory speed information | 15 Gbps in the title; 1807 MHz memory clock in the features |
| GPU clock | 1710 MHz; clock category unspecified |
| Host interface | PCIe 4 |
| Cooling description | Torx twin-fan design |
| Display outputs | Three DisplayPort 1.4a; one HDMI 2.1 |
| Maximum display resolution | 7680 × 4320 |
| Listed dimensions | 9.3 × 1.7 × 4.9 inches |
| Power requirements | Not supplied |
Memory capacity is clearer than the clock information
The listing identifies 12GB of dedicated GDDR6 memory and a 192-bit memory interface. Capacity is a useful selection criterion when comparing cards for workloads with substantial graphics-memory needs, but it is not a stand-alone indicator of processing speed. This evidence does not establish which games, texture settings or creative workloads fit comfortably within that capacity, nor how quickly the processor handles them.
The clock details require more restraint. A 1710 MHz GPU clock is supplied without saying whether it is a base, boost or another operating figure. Although the title includes an OC designation, there is no stated overclock uplift or comparison baseline. It would therefore be misleading to assign a performance advantage to that label alone.
Memory is described with a 15 Gbps figure in the title and a separate 1807 MHz clock in the feature list. These are differently expressed quantities, and the listing does not explain their relationship. Rather than silently treating them as a verified, internally consistent specification, buyers should seek a manufacturer specification sheet for the exact board. This review consequently does not derive a memory-bandwidth claim from those entries.
Display connectors provide useful planning information
Three DisplayPort 1.4a connectors and one HDMI 2.1 connector give this configuration a clearly documented physical output mix. For a desk setup, that makes it possible to compare the card’s ports with the inputs on existing monitors before purchase. A setup built around DisplayPort connections has three listed sockets to work with, while only one HDMI socket is specified.
Physical connector count should not be confused with a verified simultaneous-display configuration. The supplied evidence does not state the supported number of active monitors, refresh-rate combinations or cable requirements. Similarly, the listed 7680 × 4320 maximum display resolution describes an output specification, not a promise of playable gaming at that resolution. Buyers choosing a high-resolution or high-refresh display still need confirmation of the intended connection mode rather than relying on the maximum-resolution line alone.
Check enclosure fit and power separately
The stated 9.3 × 1.7 × 4.9-inch dimensions offer a starting point for a case-clearance check. However, the listing does not label each axis or provide a mechanical drawing. Compare the full envelope against the available space around the graphics slot, including nearby components and any front-mounted hardware. Do not infer an exact expansion-slot occupancy from the thickness figure alone.
The twin-fan cooling description establishes the advertised cooler arrangement, but not its effectiveness. No temperatures, acoustic results, fan-control behavior or heatsink construction details are supplied. Two fans are therefore a configuration detail, not evidence that this card will be quiet or maintain particular operating conditions.
Electrical compatibility is less well documented than physical size. The PCIe 4 description identifies the advertised interface generation, but it does not answer the power-supply questions. Board power, recommended PSU capacity, auxiliary connector count and connector type are all absent. Confirm these for the exact board and check the available PSU cabling before committing to a build. The evidence is insufficient to call this a low-power or connector-free upgrade.
Frequently asked questions
Does the listing identify the exact MSI board-series name?
No; the supplied listing does not establish a more specific manufacturer board-series name. It identifies the configuration as an MSI Gaming GeForce RTX 3060 with 12GB GDDR6, a 192-bit interface, PCIe 4 and a Torx twin-fan cooler. Buyers should confirm the exact board identification before relying on specifications for a particular build.
Does the OC designation confirm a specific performance uplift?
No; the listing gives no stated overclock uplift or comparison baseline. It lists a 1710 MHz GPU clock but does not say whether that is a base, boost or another operating figure. The OC label alone is not enough to establish a performance advantage.
Can I determine how many monitors it supports at once?
No; the published listing information does not state the supported number of active monitors. It lists three DisplayPort 1.4a connectors and one HDMI 2.1 connector, but connector count does not verify a simultaneous-display configuration. Refresh-rate combinations and cable requirements are also not specified.
Does the listed maximum resolution mean games will run well at that resolution?
No; the 7680 × 4320 figure is a listed maximum display resolution, not a promise of playable gaming at that resolution. The article does not provide gaming-performance results. Buyers considering a high-resolution or high-refresh display should confirm the intended connection mode rather than relying on the maximum-resolution specification alone.
What should I verify before using this card as an upgrade?
Confirm the exact board’s power requirements and check the available PSU cabling before committing to the build. The listing does not supply board power, recommended PSU capacity, auxiliary connector count or connector type. Also compare the listed 9.3 × 1.7 × 4.9-inch dimensions with the case’s available space, since the listing does not label each dimension.
Verdict: a shortlist option, not a complete compatibility answer
This MSI RTX 3060 configuration is worth considering when its listed 12GB memory capacity and DisplayPort-heavy connector layout match your requirements. Its dimensions also provide something concrete to check during case planning. The weaker areas are documentation: ambiguous clock labeling, unverified cooler behavior and missing power requirements prevent a confident build-specific recommendation.
For broader shopping context, see our graphics card buying guide. For this exact listing, prioritize board identification and electrical compatibility before interpreting the OC label as a reason to choose it.
Sources: Specifications and configuration descriptions are drawn from the supplied retailer product listing; they have not been independently measured.
Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon
